Follow @BAMEinGames

Mobile Awards

EWIG logo landscape_2017_Mobile_Awards

Women in Games Mobile Awards 2017

Concept and prizes
The first edition of the Women in Games Mobile Awards will showcase some of the best, published mobile games created by teams with women developers in Europe. This new competition is endorsed by the IMGA (International Mobile Gaming Awards), the longest standing mobile games award program.
The Grand Prix award will go to the best mobile game made by a team including women developers or a team led by a woman. The Leadership Award will recognize the exceptional quality of the work of a mobile game developer, as defined by a jury, specifically selected for this contest.
The awards show will be held during the European Women in Games Conference in London on September 6th.

– WIGJ / IMGA Partnership mutual announcement: July 31st
– Call for entries starts: July 31st
– Call for entries ends: August 20th
– Pre-Selection to shortlist of games: August 22nd
– Judging: By August 30th
– Winners’ announcement: September 6th

Eligibility and rules
– Studios, developers and publishers must be based in one of the following countries: Albania, Andorra, Armenia, Austria, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Georgia, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Kazakhstan, Kosovo, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Macedonia (FYROM), Malta, Moldova, Monaco, Montenegro, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Russia, San Marino, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, Ukraine, United Kingdom (UK), Vatican City
– A game can be entered by anyone: individuals, indie developers, companies, researchers, students and non-registered entities, public or private.
– Submitted mobile games must be published on Android or iOS, released after May 2016.
– Unpublished games are not accepted in the competition.
– Team must be led by a woman or have a majority (>50%) of women developers. Credits to game will have been published.
– Team will need to agree to IMGA/ press interviews and publicity.
– Representative from finalists are expected to attend the Awards Ceremony in London on 6 September.
– A third party may nominate game, provided eligibility criteria are met.

Every developer who submits a game sends their participation to mobileawards AT womeningames DOT org

Participants must include the following information when entering a game:
– Name of the game
– List of game credits
– Link to the game platform
– Gameplay video link
– Promocodes (if the game is not free)
– Answer to the question: Why do you think you should win the WIGJ Grand Prix? And/ or Why do you think you should win the WIGJ Leadership award?

Jury and judging process
The jury consists of 10 experts – artists, producers, journalists, team leads, and other experts with many years of experience – selected by WIGJ and IMGA who will also be invited to the European Women in Games Conference in London.

Depending on the number of submissions, there will be a pre-selection among participants so that the jury members have time to review all games by August 30th. Every jury member will receive the list of pre-selected games at least one week before the deadline for judging.

The following criteria might be evaluated when choosing awarded games and developers:
– Grand Prix
o Originality and innovation in the game
o Quality of design
o Quality of gameplay
o Technical achievement in the game
o % of women in the team
– Leadership Award
o Talent and exceptional skills by a woman developer / team led by a woman
o Specific actions led by a person or a company to promote diversity and women in games

Sponsors will be sought by both WIGJ and IMGA to bring additional credibility to the awards and to help defray the costs of hosting of the European Women in Games Conference as well to meet the objectives of Women in Games WIGJ. Sponsorship may also take the form of additional prizes to the winning or shortlisted teams. Interested sponsors should contact david.smith AT womeningames DOT org

30 minutes in the conference programme from 3.30 to 4.00 pm on Wednesday 6th September.