Women in Games launches its 2021 Global Awards and Calls for Nominations

Women in Games is proud to launch its new awards for 2021. We are calling all parts of the video games, gaming and esports sectors to nominate women that have impressed and inspired. Who are the people you would like to see given an award for their work? Who do you admire? Who do you believe deserves to be recognised? This year’s expanded awards cover 6 newly defined categories of 20 awards.  

First launched in 2011 The Women in Games Awards are an important part of the industry’s calendar. This year marks the 10th Anniversary, our sector has expanded and we want to reflect the growing significance and demands of those within competitive gaming by adding a   full suite of Gaming and Esports Awards. The organisation is excited to be putting on these new awards, celebrating and highlighting talented women across video games, gaming and esports.

We are showcasing many of the winners from the 2020 awards and some from earlier award winners too in our new Webinar series ‘Meet the Winners’ where you can find out more about our talented winners, what drives them, what they care about and what their award means to them.

Our first webinar in the series can be viewed on our Women in Games YouTube channel https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=P77MHJd4rJQ  The next webinar can be viewed on the Women in Games Twitch on June 10 at 6pm GMT and will feature legendary Hall of Fame Awards winners, Brenda Romero, Poornima Seetharam and Catharina Bohler.

Women in Games seeks partners from all over the world to help promote and present individual awards, if you’d like to get involved please get in touch. 

All the details, including how to nominate, can be found at our dedicated Awards website at https://the.wigglobalawards.com/.


The timetable for the 2021 Awards is as follows:

Call for Entries: 3 June – 11 July

Main Judging Opens: 16 July – 8 August

Finalists Announced and Public Voting Opens: 13 August

Awards Ceremony: 18 September

The Awards Ceremony is on 18 September 2021 and is part of the Women in Games Festival. 


 Marie-Claire Isaaman, CEO of Women in Games, commented: “Our awards play an important role in celebrating the achievements of women and organisations working in the games and esports industry from all over the world. We are extremely excited to double the number of available awards in 2021 in recognition of a transforming and growing sector. Nominations open on 3 June and close on 11 July.  I urge you to go to our Awards website and nominate the women and organisations that you admire for an award and don’t be shy, you can also nominate yourself!”

Here are some top tips from previous award winners on applying for the Women in Games Global Awards at https://youtu.be/YfJvPmqq84U